Front Yard Veggies

You can’t grow everything you eat, but you can eat everything you grow…

What to grow?

People often ask (meaning I have been asked this once or twice) what they should grow. The simple answer is to grow what you like to eat. Of course, I really like to eat Lobster. But seriously, you should start by growing what you most like to eat AND that is easy and productive. But I will simplify this further by ignoring what you like to grow and focus on me. I like tomatoes and they are easy to grow. It’s true in this case that lots of people agree with me and that is why the are by far the number one home grown crop. (Oddly some people, Steve Scheidler for example, don’t like tomatoes. Weird.)

So let me add the next thing that you should try that you probably haven’t tried much of.

Herbs.

Nothing will make your cooking better, faster, than growing your own fresh herbs. Basil is easy and goes very well with tomatoes in a number of different ways that I will be blogging about this summer.

Seriously, dried herbs barely resemble their fresh counterpart. I remember hearing a cooking show on the radio and a cook was asked what is the one thing that people could do to immediately improve their cooking. He said, throw out all your dried herbs on the shelf and buy new jars. They only should last 6 months to one year. Yikes, that’s expensive and ineffective. I say, don’t throw them out or do, whatever. Just go out and grow the following herbs:

sage, rosemary, marjoram, thyme, basil. Now your food will taste good.

For now, let me give a good example that I used last night:

This is a dry rub that I prepared from the following ingredients: rosemary, marjoram, garlic and salt:

This was all from the garden except garlic and salt.  (I should have used some green garlic growing right now and perhaps I will harvest my own salt soon enough)

What does one do with the dry rub? Rub it onto meats of all sorts, dry, without marinade and let it draw out the juices and infuse the meat with crazy flavor overnight and then broil or grill said meat.

Side note: marjoram is the best herb that you are probably not using. I had always found it flavorless, UNTIL I GREW IT IN MY GARDEN. Now I use it to make the best vinaigrette ever.

This is why I garden. I like food. I like food that tastes really good!

3 Comments»

  Adam Gray wrote @

I to find Steve weird for not liking the tasty red globes. He could at least pick a single type. He might like brandywine or green zebras.

I have known Steve and Adrea a long time. I think it is time the get on board with the tasty red fruit.

  Ada wrote @

You have to understand it is part of his theology. Consider no one knows what the fruit of the tree of knowledge of good and evil was. Yet oddly enough Tomatoes (a fruit) have bee cursed to the ground reminding one of the serpent. Steve loves tomato soup or sauce… i.e. as long as the tasty red fruit is purified by fire.

Note: IIIIII like tomatoes. It is Steve that doesn’t like tomatoes… even though the goo inside does tend to make me want to vomit when I am slicing them.

Note #2: Steve likes ketchup. I do not believe that has been purified by fire. However, it has been processed in some way, perhaps his integrity holds.

Note #3: I do not like ketchup. Fyi.

[…] for fennel and for herbs.  I can’t say a lot about fennel, so I won’t.  But as I have made clear before, havning an abundant supply of fresh herbs is the first thing that anyone who wants to improve the […]


Leave a Reply

