Front Yard Veggies

You can’t grow everything you eat, but you can eat everything you grow…

It’s only the backyard if you’re looking from the front




It’s only the backyard if you’re looking from the front

Originally uploaded by chris brandow

I am so so so excited about my royal blenheim tree that I planted last
year. I planted it right before fruiting so I only “harvested” two
tiny apricots. More will come this year indeed.

A fresh, warm apricots directly from the tree is among my most
powerful flavor memories. My grandmother an apricots tree and a
tangerine tree on a flat terrace overlooking a deep arroyo in southern
California. My sister and cousins and I spent many afternoons gorging
on fruit when it was ripe.

So I am as excited about this tree for some of the warm meories as for
the sweet, rich fruit.

2 Comments»

  Ada wrote @

Very cool that your kids now are going to have the same memories…

*sigh* I sure wish there was a blog out there that gave me the Spanish translations for Pumpkin and Cucumber… It’s really missing from the blogging community

  Apricots – tipping point « Front Yard Gardens wrote @

[…] have blogged on this before.  But I am posting about the blooming of the apricots this year because this is the third […]


Leave a Reply

